Local students win 3rd annual Harford County Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest

The back row (left to right): Rebekan Hansen, 5th grade Jarrettsville Elementary teacher, Patti Jo Beard, HCPS Director, Facilities Management Department, Andrew Cassilly, HCPS Resource Conservation Manager, Linn Griffiths, 12th grade North Harford High School teacher, Mary Chance, Harford County’s Director or Administration, and Rick Russell, Jarrettsville Elementary School Principle. The front row (left to right): Lauren Burnham, Grant Swinehart, Issabelle Stabb, and Abby Saltzer.

Students from eight elementary schools were honored recently for winning the 3rd Annual Harford County Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest. Here are the details:

3rd Annual Harford County Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest

(Bel Air, MD) – – Harford County Sustainability Office, Recycling Office and Harford County Public Schools partnered for the third year to hold the Conservation and Preservation Poster Contest. The contest is held to raise awareness about efficiently using and reusing our resources.

This year, the four themes and grade categories were identified: grades K-2 Biking and Walking, grades 3-5 Water Conservation, grades 6-8 Reduce, Reuse, Recycle, Rethink, and grades 9-12 Recycling Office logo. Over five hundred poster entries were received and included participation from eight elementary schools: Forest Lakes, Halls Cross Roads, Jarrettsville, Joppatowne, Meadowvale, Prospect Mill, Red Pump, and Riverside; two middle schools: Havre de Grace and Southampton along with three high schools: Havre de Grace, Joppatowne and North Harford.

The posters were judged on artistic merit, creativity and interpretation of the assigned theme, by members of the Sustainability Office and Recycling Office as well as Harford County Public Schools.

A winning poster was selected for each theme and will be reproduced and displayed in Harford County Public Schools, Harford County Government offices and the Harford County Public Libraries. The winning artists are Abby Saltzer 2nd grade of Jarrettsville Elementary School, Grant Swinehart 5th grade of Jarrettsville Elementary School, Lauren Burnham 7th grade of Southampton Middle School and Issabelle Stabb 12th grade of North Harford High School.

The students were honored among family and teachers by Mary F. Chance, Harford County’s Director of Administration and Patti Jo Beard, Harford County Public School’s Director, Facilities Management Department at the Anita C. Leight Estuary Center on December 7, 2012 for their achievement.