Top five finalists for Harford County Public Schools Teacher of the Year revealed


The Harford County Public Schools today announced the top five contenders for Teacher of the Year. The winner will be revealed March 29. Here’s the information from the district:


Expert educators vie for prestigious title

The top five finalists for the 2012 Harford County Teacher of the Year award have been released and are listed below. The judging panel had a difficult and unenviable task again this year with many outstanding teachers nominated for the award. Just to have been deemed worthy by a student, parent, administrator or someone else to be Harford’s Teacher of the Year from among the more than 3,200 teachers in the system is noteworthy.


Teacher School Subject/Grade
Ronald O. Burke Patterson Mill High School Music/Grades 9-12
Kelly A. Christ Edgewood High School English and Dance/Grades 9-12
Lauren M. Duell William Paca/Old Post Road Elementary School Grade 5
Kristina J. Marzullo C. Milton Wright High School English/Grades 10-12
Christina D. O’Neill Bel Air Middle School Language Arts/Grade 6


After this year’s Teacher of the Year Judging Committee reviewed and scored all nomination packets, the points were tallied resulting in a group of ten semi-finalists.  From there, each of the semi-finalists participated in an interview with a panel of eight judges.  The judges narrowed the ten semi-finalists to the top five finalists, one of which will be crowned the 2012 Harford County Teacher of the Year.


A surprise announcement of the winner will take place at the annual Harford County Teacher of the Year banquet to be held on Thursday, March 29th at the Bayou Restaurant in Havre de Grace. This year, the banquet is being provided by HARCO Federal Credit Union.


Biographical information and photos of each finalist will be available on the HCPS website,, in the coming weeks.